The Five Stages of Fangirling

Denial 
I can’t be. No. It’s ridiculous. I’m just watching these movies for educational purposes. Also, India is a fascinating country. And the colors are really pretty. That’s it. I can’t be a fangirl. I  mean, this person has been known to wear mesh sweaters in the Swiss Alps.

Anger 
ANI, WHY DID YOU SPEND AN UNHOLY AMOUNT OF MONEY TO GET INTO A FREAKING WAX FIGURE MUSEUM? YOU DO REALIZE IT’S A WAX FIGURE YOU’RE TAKING A PICTURE WITH, RIGHT? IT’S CREEPY!

IMG_3595

Bargaining
I’ll just read this one obscure article from Filmfare 1997 and it will be the last of it, I swear. I SWEAAAR.  Maybe one last re-watch of KKHH. It will be the last re-watch, really. I mean I obviously need to make the number of re-watches an even 10.

Depression
I suck. I’m a failure of a person. He’s not even young enough or conventionally attractive enough to make this obsession ok. I’ll just keep this shameful secret and hide under a large rock for the rest of my life.

Acceptance
Screw this. I’m not doing anything illegal, am I? I’m just fangirling, come on. I’m letting the fangirl flag fly, bitches. I’m side-eyeing Salman fans and openly making fun of “serious actor” Aamir.  I’m hanging the Koyla poster over my bed and making Haule Haule my ringtone. I’m making “SRK” “Shah Rukh Khan” “Shahrukh Khan” and “King Khan” Google Alerts and re-watching KKHH for the 11th time.

7 thoughts on “The Five Stages of Fangirling

  1. I’m wondering which mode I’m in considering I just realized I not only know each and every one of these movies but can think of a dozen more that I fell in love with Shahrukh and Aamir Khan in… Kareena Kapoor, Abhishek Bachchan, John Abraham, Uday Chopra, Priyanka Chopra…. I think I will watch any film these guys play in!

Leave a Reply

